Toms Rudzinskis

  • Release 2023
  • Genre Contemporary Jazz, Fusion

Best Jazz Album Award and Album of the Year Nomination at the Latvian Music Recording Awards 2024.  Featured on the Europe Jazz Media Chart. 


5/5  “…saturated, multi-layered contemporary jazz looking into the spiritual and jazz-rock directions.. music that flows through consciousness letting one get carried away.. a conceptual work that attests to Rudzinskis’ new musical horizons.“

– Kaspars Zavileiskis, Music Sun

“Toms Rudzinskis’ ABYSS spoke with creative imagination, emotional plasticity and intensity of the artistic dramaturgy”

– Armands Znotiņš, The Latvian Grand Music Award juror, Latvijas Avīze newspaper

About the project ABYSS

Toms Rudzinskis ABYSS (LV/DE) is the Berlin-born electro-acoustic project by Latvian jazz saxophonist and composer Toms Rudzinskis. Heavily rhythmic and melodic, bending jazz, rock, contemporary music influences and exploring the possibilities of electronics, the quintet paints their musical journey with expressive strokes, exciting improvisation and intense yet intricate live sound.


The new self-titled album “ABYSS” self-released on November 17, 2023 (streaming release March 22, 2024) tells a multi-layered story of a contemporary person’s search for meaning and answers through the abyss of the unknown, with music as one’s guide and teacher. The album release tour in the Baltic States featured a double bill show with Danish trio “Kemaca Kinetic” and special guests – vocalists and brass bands – in each of the locations in Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.

Photo: Kate Elpo

Album lineup

Toms Rudzinskis (Latvia), saxophone, compositions
Igor Osypov (Ukraine), electric guitar
Povel Widestrand (Sweden), keyboards
Tom Berkmann (Germany), electric bass
Fabian Rösch (Germany), drums
Mette Nadja Hansen (Denmark), voice

Album credits

Composed and produced by Toms Rudzinskis
Recorded at Blackbird Music studio and various home studios, Berlin, 2019-2021
Recording engineer Sebastian Ohmert, Tonstudio Sonic-Impulse
Mixing by Charis Karantzas
Mastering by Doug Henderson, micro-moose-berlin
Cover photo by Shannon McInnes
Band photo, design, lyrics by Kate Elpo

All rights reseved. C & P 2023 Toms Rudzinskis

Supported by Latvian State Cultural ministry, Latvian State Culture Capital Foundation, The Council of the Creative Unions of Latvia, SIA “E.G.I.”, Hugo Pāvuls.

Special mention album crowdfunding supporters: Inese Upe, Pekka Pylkkanen, Paula Lazdina, Marc Schreiner, Daiga Muizniece, Ronja Burve, Alessandro D’Anna, Connie Nicklaus, Eric Pan, Yannik Sieburg, Gerhard Ornig, Mariya Yaskorski, Baron Arnold, Aengus Hackett, Rayub8, Marta Zīverte, Elīna Viļuma, Malcolm Roberts, Kaspars Ansons, Jānis Bižkovskis, Krišs Veismanis, Jakub Doležal, Kari Antila.